Heavily inspired by the loud, heavy guitars of shoegaze groups like Ride and the sweet melodies of dream pop artists like Slowdive, Melbourne, Australia’s Flyying Colours formed in 2011 to make their own version of the sounds they loved. Built around the guitars and vocals of Brodie J Brümmer and Gemma O’Connor, with able backing on bass and drums by the brother team of Sam and Joshua Dawes, the band released its first single, “Wavygravy,” before issuing a self-titled EP in November of 2013 on the Australian label Mascot. It was picked up for worldwide distribution by Shelflife in the U.S. and Club AC30 in the U.K. early in 2014. Touring and more recording followed, with another very similar EP seeing release early in 2015. The ROYGBIV EP was also released by the team of Shelflife and Club AC30, while the latter also simultaneously put out a compilation of the two EPs titled EPX2. The band’s debut full-length, Mindfullness, was issued by Club AC30 in September of 2016.

This summer their new album ‘Fantasy Country’ will be released.

Flyying Colours - Big Mess
Flyying Colours - It’s Tomorrow Now