Piet Parra, Sofie Winterson, Bastiaan Bosma, Rimer London and Mick Johan together form studio project MICH. Together they make depressing songs with cheerful guitar melodies. A hot summer where everything dies. A gothic in an amusement park. A lovely band to shrug your shoulders over. Live the band consists of: Sofie Winterson, Bastiaan Bosma, Mick Johan, Benny Komala, Marc Kniphorst and Barend Brieffies.

There is a new MICH album. It’s called Nuts, and it sounds surprisingly pleasant and poppy. It takes effort not to label the music as upbeat. Thank God the lyrics are as always about the gigantic amount of emptiness in our lives, which seems to be slowly crushing us against the skirting boards of existence.